Fresh Veggies!

Well, I ran out of “oomph” last night so I didn’t have a chance to post this before I fell fast asleep – so here is part 2 from our Saturday adventure…

After our Horsetooth Falls hike, we made a pit stop to see Sam on our way home and take a look at his amazing garden. I was blown away at how much it had grown since the last time we had visited (probably 3 weeks or so) – he’s done such an amazing job with everything, and I’m so proud of him for sticking with his plan and growing only organic, non GMO plants. He also developed a layout for the garden for optimal growth – you’ll notice in some of the photos that the plants are growing sporadically, as opposed to having corn in one section, tomatoes in one section, peppers in another section (you get my point). At first I thought he was a bit looney, but I will admit I am pleasantly surprised to see the garden not only thriving but to see my brother so proud of what he’s accomplished.

I went a little crazy with the photos yesterday – I took a combined total of about 100 between our hike and the garden trip, but some of them turned out so great!

Matthew had a blast running around the garden and playing with Taz (its nice to be able to play with a real dog every once in a while!).

Here are a few photos from our garden adventure:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(If you want to view all the photos from our second trip today, I’ve uploaded them to Flickr here)

We came home with some wonderful fresh veggies – the lettuce, zucchini and yellow squash were all going crazy so we got quite a bit of those, plus a few beets, yellow potatoes, spinach and cilantro:

I’m sure within the next couple of weeks we’ll have a ton more ready to be picked & enjoyed (including my tomatillos – I can’t wait to learn to can so we can preserve some delicious tomatillo salsa.

In the meantime, I leave you with this – a photo of lettuce that, for some reason, I find really cool!

Posted on July 31, 2011, in Family. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What an amazing day! your photos of the produce are beautiful – Sam is doing such an amazing job with his garden – especially since this is his first shot at gardening.

Leave a Reply

