Of Family And Such…

This afternoon I came across a website, by pure chance really, that documented the days of a man and his father together. I’m not sure how I ended up on this site, but I can say without a shadow of a doubt that it is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.

And I sit here, crying my eyes out, grateful to have had the chance to peek inside the life of this man and his recollection of his father’s last days. If you have a moment, and a box of tissues – it would be worth your time to do the same: www.dayswithmyfather.com.

It’s interesting to me, after reading this, my mind has been permanently lost in a sea of my own thoughts – completely oblivious to everything happening around me. I feel the immediate need to spend time with my own family.

It’s amazing to me how fast time seems to pass. And really, it’s almost as if you don’t realize this until all of a sudden days, weeks, months, YEARS have passed by. My gorgeous baby boy has already blessed me with his amazingness for over a year. My perfect husband came into my life almost 5 years ago. My dad set out on an amazing adventure almost three years ago. Time flies by…

I think sometimes we all get so caught up in the day-to-day that we can take for granted all of the things that truly matter. I know I’m not innocent of that.

I want to spend every waking moment with Zach and Matthew – but unfortunately I can’t. All we can do is enjoy the time that we do get together, and lately I think all of the wonderful memories we have created are only bringing us closer together.

I want to have lunch with my dad at New Saigon and then go somewhere cool and laugh at random things we come across. But again, I can’t. Not yet anyway. Maybe some day soon.

I want to see my brother more. He only lives an hour away. But I don’t – I’m not sure why.

I want to go to Chilis and have appetizers with my mom like we used to a long time ago. Nachos…yum. But we haven’t been in years.

I want to give my grandma a big hug and a kiss each and every day. But I can’t – at least not in person.

I want all of my family to be in the same place at the same time. The likelihood of that happening is…well… that will never happen.

I suppose I’m a little sad. I hate to bring down my usually happy & enthusiastic postings with a “debby downer” but wanted to share this with everyone. Take 5 minutes out of your day to read that story online. Then take another 15 minutes and think about all of those who you love…

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Family. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

